In the News

CARTI President and CEO Adam Head Selected as Finalist for Arkansas Business Health Care Heroes Awards

Press release from Arkansas Business. 

Arkansas Business Health Care Heroes Awards

Arkansas Business is thrilled to recognize thirty-seven individuals, companies and organizations that are making a significant impact on the quality of health care in Arkansas. Their acts of heroism represent a display of dedication to excellence in the area of expertise beyond the scope of their jobs. Through their commitment to their profession and their community, these individuals will be recognized at a luncheon awards ceremony. The Lifetime Achievement Award winner and a finalist in each category were selected by an outside panel of judges and will be celebrated at an awards ceremony, presented by CompleteCare, Inc., April 2, 2020 at the Embassy, Little Rock; 11:30-1:00 p.m. Tickets can be purchased online at

Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Mary Salassi-Scotter, Arkansas Children’s

The Finalists in each category are:

  • Health Care Administrator
    • Adam Head, CARTI
    • Ann Kruger, Arkansas Children’s
    • John Montgomery, The Green House Cottages of Poplar Grove
    • Brian Thomas, Jefferson Regional Medical Center
  • Large Hospital of the Year (100 beds or more)
    • CHI St. Vincent Hot Springs
    • Jefferson Regional
    • St. Bernards Medical Center
    • University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
  • Small Rural Hospitals (Less than 100 beds)
    • Arkansas Children’s Northwest
    • Howard Memorial Hospital
    • Ouachita County Medical Center
  • Innovation Hero
    • Mellie Bridewell, Arkansas Rural Health Partnership
    • Orthopaedic Hand Trauma Telemedicine Program, UAMS
    • Erin Mannen, Orthopaedic Surgery, UAMS
    • Mayumi Nakagawa, Department of Pathology, UAMS
  • Nurse of the Year
    • Morgan Butler, Arkansas Children’s
    • Brenda Jo Jarrard, Arkansas Department of Human Services
    • Amanda McCorkle, Central Arkansas Veterans Healthcare System
    • Ashley Van Houten, Mid-Delta Health Care System
  • Physician of the Year
    • Stephen Canon, Arkansas Children’s
    • Johnathan Goree, Department of Anesthesiology, UAMS
    • Thomas Kiser, Baptist Health Rehabilitation Institute
    • Ryan Koch, Unity Health
    • Jon Oden, Arkansas Children’s
  • Allied Health Professional
    • Stacie Bordelon,Specialty Pharmacy Services, UAMS
    • Tonya Johnson, UAMS
    • Derek Lagemann, Physical Therapy Institute
    • Miranda Yelvington, Arkansas Children’s
  • Community Outreach
    • Sandra J. Brown, Jefferson Comprehensive Care System, Inc.
    • Community Health Centers of Arkansas
    • Kenya Eddings, Arkansas Department of Health
    • Larry Freeman, Synergy Saturday
  • Long-Term Care Facility
    • Baptist Health Extended Care Hospital
    • The Green House Cottages of Poplar Grove
    • Presbyterian Village
    • Unity Health – Acute Inpatient Rehabilitation Center

The winners of each category will be revealed at the awards ceremony and published in a special supplement of Arkansas Business to be distributed on March 23, 2020.